Give Your Lashes a Boost

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I’m going to cut straight to the chase, here… When I want to give my lashes a boost, I turn to falsies. I especially love individual false eyelash clusters, applied just at the outer corners of my eyes. I find that this is the best way to achieve lashes that are long and full, while still natural. Less Snuffleupagus, more Justin Theroux.

If you’ve never tried false eyelashes before, don’t be intimidated. Perfect application takes practice but, once you get the hang of it, it’s like learning to ride a bike. In my opinion, individuals are a lot more forgiving for beginners than strip lashes are. Make a mistake? Nothing to worry about. All you have to do is remove or reposition the misplaced lash.

IMG_2997

Not sure where to get started? Let me walk you through the process…

Choose your eyelashes.

Personally, I like to purchase varying lash lengths of the “knot free” variety. Sometimes you’ll find sets that already include multiple lash lengths. Also, I prefer the individual eyelash clusters to actual individual lashes… But it’s up to you! You can create different effects with different types of eyelashes.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetPrepare your eyelash adhesive.

Individual lashes are much easier to apply with glue that’s gone a little tacky. I dispense a small amount of my glue onto the back of my hand and let it set for a minute before I begin my lash application. Oh, and, unless you’re using an eyelash color other than black, it doesn’t matter whether you use clear or dark glue.

Prepare your natural eyelashes (while waiting for your glue to go tacky).

If you like to curl your eyelashes, now would be the best time to do this. I, personally, don’t curl my eyelashes (I get eyelash perms once in a while, more on that in another post) but I do like prepping my lashes with a clear mascara before beginning, using the wand to groom my lashes outward.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetFigure out where you want to place your eyelashes. 

I like to apply my individual lashes so that they accentuate just the outer corner of my eye. I start by applying the shorter pieces to the center of my lash line and gradually increase the length that I use toward the end. I follow the same concept with my lower lashes. Also, Instead of placing the false lash directly onto my lash line, I like to lay them against my natural eyelashes. This helps give a more seamless, blended, and natural look.

Use a good pair of tweezers to apply your individual eyelashes.

It’s important to have a good pair of clean tweezers – emphasis on clean. Your false lashes will cling to any residue on your tweezers and make it difficult to deposit onto your lash line. I like to keep a cleansing wipe on hand to help clean my tweezers off in between applications.

Finish it all off with mascara.

I like to run my clear mascara over my natural and false lashes to blend them together before topping everything off with my favorite mascara.

Shelley (:

Leave a Reply

