Going Blonde When You’re Anything But

IMG_5036

“Asians can’t be blonde,” they say. “It just doesn’t ever look right.”

I’m always up for a challenge. When someone tells me that I can’t do something, it triggers this need within me to prove that I absolutely can. Especially when it comes to something so superficial as how I wear my hair… Because why should anyone else have a say in what color it should be, but myself? If I want blonde hair, I’m getting blonde hair. *Insert emoji with the sassy girl in the pink top doing a hair flip.*

If you’re Asian or just have naturally dark hair and are thinking of going blonde, I say go for it! It’s absolutely doable. In the past year, I’ve tried varying shades of blonde and have learned a few things that I think might be helpful to you if you’re thinking of coming over to the dark side (light side?):

  1. Do your research! Find inspiration from other’s who’ve gone from brunette or redhead to blonde. Examples of celebrities who’ve done this are Jessica Alba, Chrissy Teigen, Jamie Chung, Christina Hendricks (blonde to redhead and back to blonde), and the Kardashians. To be on the safe side, it’s best to look at people who have similar skin color and undertones as you do. You’re going to want to take photos of the type of color you want to the salon to give your stylist the best idea of what you’re looking for. That having been said, it’s crucial to also make sure you do your research and find the best colorist for you. I’ve made the mistake of just booking with the first person available, before… It was not pretty. Read reviews and be sure to book an initial consultation before just diving in.
  2. Take baby steps! Remember when Kim Kardashian went from jet black hair to Draco-Malfoy-platinum-blonde in one day? I’d recommend maybe not going that route. It’s just not the best for your hair! I know, I know, we all like instant gratification, but hear me out. The results are so much better when you go gradually. I’ve been in that situation where I just couldn’t wait for another appointment to go as light as I wanted… So I went all out and wound up with Kentucky-Fried-Tresses that I eventually just chopped off. When you go gradual, the result will look better and your hair will thank you. Note: If any of you are as stubborn as I am, you’re probably going to disregard what I just said. If you want to go platinum in one sitting, (1) please don’t try this at home and (2) refer to my first bullet point… make sure you do your research and consult with an expert colorist before proceeding!
  3. Observe proper after care! Try to go an extra day between washes. When I first went blonde, I would wash my hair every other day. For those of you who are used to washing your hair daily, I promise it will get easier… and it’s also been shown to be so much better for the condition of your hair! I now only shampoo once a week. Also, every 1-2 weeks, try using a purple shampoo to avoid brassiness. I like Kevin Murphy’s Angel Wash and Clairol’s Shimmer Lights. You also want to make sure that you treat your hair to regular hair masks… Doesn’t need to be anything fancy. A natural oil like olive or coconut oil is perfect for this!
  4. Rock your color with confidence! You’re looking good, honey. (: I told you you could pull it off.

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Shelley (:

3 thoughts on “Going Blonde When You’re Anything But

Leave a Reply

