A Bold, Vampy Lip for Fall

Vampy Lip and Acai BowlsFall really crept up on me this year. Really. I didn’t even know that fall had hit until just this morning, at which point we’d already been 4 days into it.

I do live in California, though, and we’ve been experiencing some intense heat waves for the past few weeks. I can’t remember the last time I put on a pair of pants or even a top with the slightest bit of a sleeve (scrubs aside)… It’s. Just. Been. Too. Hot.

So how does a girl acknowledge the change in seasons without the leather jackets, tall boots, and plush scarves? She rocks a bold lip, of course! So, today, I broke out my personal favorite lip color for the cooler seasons: Mac’s Matte Lipstick in Diva for that gorgeous, deep, port wine lip.

Mac DivaIf you’ve never dabbled in dark lip shades, I 100% recommend Mac’s Diva. It has the
perfect blend of red and plum undertones and suits pretty much anyone… But if you’re a little intimidated and not quite ready to take the plunge, you might want to start with something a little more red, like Bette from Nars’ Audacious lipstick range. Another great one (and for a great price, too) is Revlon’s Black Cherry.

Alternatively, if you absolutely love an intense, vampy lip, you can take on a color with deeper plum undertones, like Mac’s Satin Lipstick in Film Noir.

Mac Diva at Bare Bowls

Darling and Mac

Oh, and a quick little tip: before you put on your lipstick, scrub your lips with something like Lush’s Bubble Gum Lip Scrub. It’ll make your lipstick application a lot smoother, help the color last longer, and it’s delicious. You can also make your own DIY lip scrub by mixing sugar and honey.

Now, if you excuse me, I’m off to enjoy a vanilla chai tea to make up for the few days of fall that I missed. Feel free to ping me in the comments if you have any questions!

Shelley (:

Leave a Reply

