“When you squeeze an orange…”

“When you squeeze an orange, you get orange juice because that’s what’s inside.” – Dr. Wayne Dyer (RIP)

When things get a little sticky, the first person I call is my mother. My mom always gives me the best advice (cause isn’t that what mothers do?) and she loves quoting Dr. Wayne Dyer.

There’s a joke among the Zaragoza’s (my mother’s side of the family) that the women in the family are all hot-tempered… and that definitely applies to me. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve called my mom, my eyes literally bulging out of their sockets, upset about something that happened either at work, with the family, with my boyfriend, or with the person driving next to me who flipped me off for no reason. One day, after listening to me rant for about 30 minutes, my mom stopped me and told me, “Baby, when you squeeze an orange, you get orange juice because that’s what’s inside.”

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

“When put under pressure, you become angry because that’s what’s deep inside of you. Fill your heart with love, even when it’s difficult, and when they squeeze you, there will be nothing to give but love.”

Of course, she was right. I have a tendency to just let every little thing get to me… And I’m sure I’m not the only one. I mean, that driver who flipped me off on my way home probably didn’t have such an easy time just letting things go, himself. We allow ourselves to be so consumed with flaws – in ourselves, in those around us, in systems, in everything.

Personally, instead of focusing all of my attention on the negative and filling my heart with stress, anxiety, and anger, I want to save room for love (cue John Legend) and make the good things, however little and seemingly insignificant, count for more than the bad things.

Featured 1

About a year ago I started ShelleySideUp and, when things became challenging, I chose to simply give up on it for the time being. I couldn’t get past it’s (or my) flaws and I just didn’t want to have to deal with it anymore. Well, here I am. I’m back and ready to embrace the experience for all that it is and will be… even it’s flaws… and make the best parts count for more than the worst.

Cheers to the little things, to balance, to orange juice, and to love!

Shelley (:

Leave a Reply

